VaultNetwork.net Vault Network Boards
Author Topic: Are the portalspace ripoff plugins now clean? [Locked]
Teffie-the-Persian
Posts: 10
Registered: 2003-8-10 12:31:55
I had no idea the plugins were ripoffs. Just recently came back to AC and I was surprised to see an alternative for combat macroing that wasn't mentioned anywhere. (I can't do searches on vn. I don't know why).

I downloaded/installed portal tank without reading up on it, and am a little worried that I downloaded a virus. I never actually used the plugin, so I don't know if any malicious code would have had a chance to execute or not. I have removed it from Decal and deleted its folder.

I ran a scan on virustotal and 0/41 things came back with a virus for the .msi installer. I didn't check the actual installation folder because I don't want to reinstall it.

 

-----signature-----
In-game name: Tef.
Don't bother arguing with me, I'm beneath contempt.
r33t & coolest pk.
I have other characters, but I don't play them, ever.
First there is a mountain/Then there is no mountain/Then there is.
Saloben_ign  3 stars
Posts: 826
Registered: 2003-10-30 15:53:21
The original files that had the viruses in them were replaced with files that weren't infected a couple weeks later, but I wouldn't use them anyway because he stole the source code from the original developers and then claimed that it was his alone. In some cases he didn't even make any changes to the files except to rename them and put them on his website.

 

-----signature-----
Never! Never! Never! take a sleeping pill and a laxative at the same time.
yaroz_vn  4 stars
Posts: 1,225
Registered: 2002-6-30 20:08:11
I wouldn't trust a thing from him. He's a lowlife that tried to rip off plugins that people opened the source code up to other developers to learn/build on, and tried to pass them off as his own. I doubt he changed a line of code, other than replacing their names/websites with his.

 

-----signature-----
Proud member of The Knights of Fortune
Mr Adventure - Lil' Pew - Da Noob - Qar
Yaroz - Yanno
http://www.fortunesway.com

VaultNetwork.net is an independently operated community forum and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or technically based on IGN, GameSpy, FilePlanet, GameStats, or the former IGN/GameSpy Vault Network.
References to VaultNetwork.net mean this site/domain. VNBoards-style presentation is a visual homage only. By using this site, you agree to the forum rules.