VaultNetwork.net Vault Network Boards
Author Topic: Stolen Plugins? [Locked]
kronikjames  1 star
Posts: 167
Registered: 2004-9-4 15:30:23
I was looking for House Keeper today with no luck but as i was doing it i found this site http://portalsplace.leafcull.net/ which has several plugins on it. after dl and installing them i noticed they are suspiciously similar to Lifetank and craft bot...did someone steal these and rebrand them as their own? or what the hell is going on here?

 

-----signature-----
EvilKronik quester in AC!
I am Jack's... complete lack of surprise.
A lie is only a lie if you know the truth!
Kronik Dead Head Xbow in progress
"Bring me some Stout already, meat puppet!"
RoogonII  2 stars
Posts: 343
Registered:
Yes, IMHO they are.


Search this forum further and you will find plenty written on the subject.

http://vnboards.ign.com/ac_utilities/b5432/114152057/r114156611/
yaroz_vn  4 stars
Posts: 1,225
Registered: 2002-6-30 20:08:11
Yes, he took open source plugins and changed some strings inside of them, with no other change to functionality, and passed them off as his own. He was about to do that with CastAway until I notified Maddy about what he does. One of them even included some keystroke recording code if I remember correctly.

 

-----signature-----
Proud member of The Knights of Fortune
Mr Adventure - Lil' Pew - Da Noob - Qar
Yaroz - Yanno
http://www.fortunesway.com
kronikjames  1 star
Posts: 167
Registered: 2004-9-4 15:30:23
yaroz_vn posted:

Yes, he took open source plugins and changed some strings inside of them, with no other change to functionality, and passed them off as his own. He was about to do that with CastAway until I notified Maddy about what he does. One of them even included some keystroke recording code if I remember correctly.



scarry stuff man

 

-----signature-----
EvilKronik quester in AC!
I am Jack's... complete lack of surprise.
A lie is only a lie if you know the truth!
Kronik Dead Head Xbow in progress
"Bring me some Stout already, meat puppet!"
Ball-Cruncher  3 stars
Posts: 717
Registered: 2004-8-28 14:15:47
From what I remember, this guy was shut down just about anywhere he posted links because his plugins had keyloggers/trojans. I remember the Wiki plugin page deleted any links to his plugins.


Shady guy. Would def never install anything from him.

 

-----signature-----
T C M
In-Game as Bluballz or Vash
Maglett_of_FF  2 stars
Posts: 332
Registered: 2002-5-17 22:53:12
James, I advise you do a serious set of virus scans if you installed any of that rat-B*s mangled version of plug-ins.

 

-----signature-----
Edits are for spelling :^)
Trophy Compendium http://vnboards.ign.com/message.asp?topic=90389010
/a Devil's Saint says, "what we teach our Children we become" June 3, 2008

VaultNetwork.net is an independently operated community forum and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or technically based on IGN, GameSpy, FilePlanet, GameStats, or the former IGN/GameSpy Vault Network.
References to VaultNetwork.net mean this site/domain. VNBoards-style presentation is a visual homage only. By using this site, you agree to the forum rules.